29 Comments
Comment removed
Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment

This happened to me! I thought it was a scam. Thank you for letting me know.

Expand full comment

Thank you for letting me know. I filled out the form.

Expand full comment

The number is 7866323527 in southern Dade-Miami County. Why should I trust the equally evasive (Who are "Band Width" and "Mark Monitor"?), and even more inquisitive (data-mining; wants real name and my email address; not just phone number) bandwidth.com?

Expand full comment

I got one too, different sub. It said I bring you good tidings, let's converse.

Expand full comment

Good to know. How did they get to post a comment in your name?

Expand full comment

I wanted to know how the reply went to my email and when I emailed him back it returned to me and then I msg him but I shouldn’t. I did the fraud report and they did violate the terms jf service and are being investigated.

Expand full comment

Thanks for the alert - I fell for the “I bring you good tiding, let’s converse.”

Expand full comment
founding

Here is what you get when you report the number:

Jason Turner (SIP Support)

Feb 5, 2023, 12:03 PM EST

Thank you for making us aware of your concern.

Bandwidth is a nationwide telecommunication and VoIP provider serving primarily business customers. Many of our customers use our VoIP services in a wholesale manner, offering services of their own together with a Bandwidth telephone number to their end users. In these cases, Bandwidth does not have a relationship to the end-user or any information about the end user and how the number is being used by the end user. In fact, Bandwidth may not provide any of the features of the end-user's services (including such things as call forwarding/routing, outbound calling with CallerID, SMS messaging services, etc. ) even though they may include a Bandwidth telephone number. This is in fact the case with the number you referenced.

We have forwarded your complaint to our wholesale customer for investigation. We will let you know as soon as we hear back from our customer, typically within the next 48hrs.

Additionally, your concern may be a matter for law enforcement and we encourage you to work with your local law enforcement as may be appropriate.

--

Thank you,

Bandwidth Network Fraud Mitigation Team

So essentially a "not my problem" response. This is another reason why Substack desperately needs a Silence function. Don't know why they will not make one.

Expand full comment
founding

Well this was surprising. After my first post about the quasi-response I got, I just got this:

Will (SIP Support)

Feb 5, 2023, 12:16 PM EST

Greetings,

Please see below the response that we have received from our customer:

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for the report. The following number(s) have been investigated for potential fraud and abuse, and we have confirmed that the accounts associated with these numbers have been engaging in behavior that violates our terms of service. As a result, we have taken action on the responsible accounts.

[+17866323527]

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you

Bandwidth Network Fraud Mitigation Team

This looks like a company I could actually like.

Expand full comment

If you had the option to report spam comments, I happily report every one I see. "Richard Hoard" is spamming everywhere.

Expand full comment

Mike Sowden has been targeted, as well.

Expand full comment

I saw the message , I did ignore it thought it was weird but new to this format I figured if it was important or real you would iMessage me

But thanks for your warning it did answer what I was thinking 👍

Expand full comment

Yes, happened on mine as well - same text, all allegedly from me, and all absolutely NOT from me. But those comments are now gone and that profile's been deleted, looks like?

Expand full comment

You're not alone, Dr. Jack.

Mark Crispin Miller's Substack ID has also been hacked or spoofed.

I was notified of four replies from Mark to comments I made, all of those notifications received in my e-mail inbox within two seconds of each other.

If you and mark had your ID hacked, that's one thing, and seems like a possible issue within Substack. If you two were spoofed, Mark's was very convincing, copyright info, avatar and all. The avatar doesn't track back; I encountered a "profile not found."

Expand full comment

This isn’t a hack, per se. It’s spoofing. And quite amateurish.

Fake accounts using the substack interface. The phone number may be spoofed as well. Has been seen on many stacks, no doubt coordinated.

The intent may be to get people to mark such messages as junk/spam, which will have the effect of routing future comment dialogue to one’s junk/spam folder. Best strategy is ignore/delete.

Expand full comment

I got another reply stating it was James Lyons Weiler with a 909 area code California

Expand full comment

Yesterday I received a similar message starting with “Good tidings…”from Jordan Schactel’s substack. Seemed odd to me. Glad I checked the number out! Will report it now.

Expand full comment